Want Now Wednesday: Witches of Ash and Ruin

I died when I read this synopsis. This blog is now written by my ghost.


Witches of Ash & Ruin
Author:
E. Latimer
Publisher: Freeform
Release Date: March 3, 2020
Synopsis: Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy and A Discovery of Witches.

Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic OCD;
the aftermath of being outed as bisexual in her conservative Irish town; and the return of her long-absent mother, who barely seems like a parent. But all that really matters to her is ascending and finally, finally becoming a full witch—plans that are complicated when another coven, rumored to have a sordid history with black magic, arrives in town with premonitions of death. Dayna immediately finds herself at odds with the bewitchingly frustrating Meiner King, the granddaughter of their coven leader.

And then a witch turns up murdered at a local sacred site, along with the blood symbol of the Butcher of Manchester—an infamous serial killer whose trail has long gone cold. The killer’s motives are enmeshed in a complex web of witches and gods, and Dayna and Meiner soon find themselves at the center of it all. If they don’t stop the Butcher, one of them will be next.

With razor-sharp prose and achingly real characters, E. Latimer crafts a sweeping, mesmerizing story of dark magic and brutal mythology set against a backdrop of contemporary Ireland that’s impossible to put down.


Um, excuse me with that synopsis?!? It sounds SO DANG INTRIGUING! Epic clash of witches and gods? Modern witchcraft with ancient Celtic mythology? A coven with a sordid history with black magic? WAS THIS BOOK WRITTEN JUST FOR ME?!?

I am very here for the rep that I’m picking up from the synopsis as well. We need all kinds of stories from all kinds of people. And it’s set outside of the United States, so I am very here for that!

Basically, what I’m saying is y’all need to add this one to your TBRs!

Witches of Ash and Ruin releases March 3, 2020 and pre-order links can be found at the author’s website.

Posted by

Hi there! I'm Kibby, a 30ish year old book devourer, living in Northern California! When not reading I am writing about demon hunters, rewatching Great British Bake Off and Doctor Who too much, and lamenting over the lack of appreciation for Rogue One. I am also a #bookstagrammer under the IG handle of somethingofthebook.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s