Want Now Wednesday: Crownchasers

On Wednesdays, we scream about wanting upcoming YA sci-fi epics!


Crownchasers
Author:
Rebecca Coffindaffer
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: September 29, 2019
Synopsis: A deadly competition for the throne will determine more than just the fate of the empire in this riveting duology opener, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Aurora Rising, and Three Dark Crowns.

Alyssa Farshot has spent her whole life trying to outrun her family legacy. Her mother sacrificed everything to bring peace to the quadrant, and her uncle has successfully ruled as emperor for decades. But the last thing Alyssa wants is to follow in their footsteps as the next in line for the throne. Why would she choose to be trapped in a palace when she could be having wild adventures exploring a thousand-and-one planets in her own ship?

But when Alyssa’s uncle becomes gravely ill, his dying wish surprises the entire galaxy. Instead of naming her as his successor, he calls for a crownchase, the first in seven centuries. Representatives from each of the empire’s prime families—including Alyssa—are thrown into a race to find
the royal seal, which has been hidden somewhere in the empire. The first to find the seal wins the throne.

Alyssa’s experience as an explorer makes her the favorite to win the crown she never wanted. And though she doesn’t want to be empress, her duty to her uncle compels her to participate in this one last epic adventure. But when the chase turns deadly, it’s clear that more than just the fate of the empire is at stake. Alyssa is on her most important quest yet—and only time will tell if she’ll survive it.


I’m going to try and keep this one from me just screaming over and over again how much I want this book, but I at least need to open up with “OMFG I WANT THIS BOOK!”.

I’ve had this book on my radar since last November and with each day that moves us closer to the release I get more and more excited. I am dying for some action packed, snarky YA sci-fi and from what I’ve gathered from the author’s Twitter account, this one will fit that bill.

And can we just take a moment to appreciate the heck out of this cover?? Y’all, give me all the brash neon colors in space, please and thank you!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go prepare my sacrifice to the publishing gods that I may receive an ARC of this one.

Crownchasers by Rebecca Coffindaffer releases September 29, 2020 and pre-order links are live on the publisher’s website.

Posted by

Hi there! I'm Kibby, a 30ish year old book devourer, living in Northern California! When not reading I am writing about demon hunters, rewatching Great British Bake Off and Doctor Who too much, and lamenting over the lack of appreciation for Rogue One. I am also a #bookstagrammer under the IG handle of somethingofthebook.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s